Nuclear Safety, Quality Assurance & Environment
Office of Nuclear Safety, Quality Assurance & Environment Home
Mission & Functions
Program Contacts
What's New?
Nuclear Safety
Quality Assurance
Environmental Policy
Environmental Guidance
Environmental Reports
Environmental Management System
Pollution Prevention
Radiation Protection
Environmental Compliance
Environmental Training
Environmental Tools
Search Our Documents
Topics & Resources
Analytical Services Program
Cultural & Natural Resources
DOE Comments on Rulemakings
Federal Environmental Laws
Institutional Controls
NEPA Activities

EPA Air Quality Designations & Classifications for Areas with DOE Sites

Last Update to Database: 11/6/07

The Office of Environmental Policy and Assistance (HS-22) maintains a database of air quality designations and classifications for localities in the U.S. at which there is a DOE site. Under the nonattainment provisions of the 1990 Clean Air Act (CAA) Amendments, every State is divided into "areas," with each area designated as "attainment" or "nonattainment". Nonattainment areas are localities that are not in compliance with the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for one or more of the six criteria pollutants (i.e., ozone, carbon monoxide, particulate matter, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide and lead).

Use the drop-down list below to retrieve attainment/nonattainment data for DOE sites by State. Use the SHIFT and CTRL keys to select multiple States or select "All States" to list all sites.


The listings include EPA's final 8-hour ozone designations and classifications rule (69 FR 23858; April 30, 2004), and the Agency's 8-hour ozone implementation rule (69 FR 23951; April 30, 2004). Also, information from EPA's fine particulate designations (70 FR 944; January 5, 2005) has been included in the listings.

Omissions or any possible errors in the database should be brought to the attention of Emile Boulos of HS-22 (; 202-586-1306).